Sew Dolly Clackett Challenge: Round Up!

I owe a lot to Dolly.

Roisin’s wonderful blog was one of the first that I found online when I  started sewing a year ago.  I fell in love with her style (and wit!) immediately and her blog has been a source of inspiration ever since!

I adore her often quirky fabric choices, many of which I find reflected in my own fabric stash. I knew right away I had found a sewing kindred spirit.  Sew Sisters?  I think so!

Being new to the sewing and blogging world, I was thrilled when my very first comment I posted on her site garnered a reply!  It was like having my very own celebrity encounter and it encouraged me to become more active in the online sewing and blogging community.

SO when the Sew Dolly Clackett Challenge in honour of Roisin’s upcoming nuptials was announced, I knew I’d be taking part.  I didn’t realize how many dresses I would sew up (or finish sewing up!) in the time allotted for the challenge. I have worked feverishly over the last few months finishing projects, starting new ones, pouring over my sewing machine into the wee hours of the night (and morning).

I can’t believe that all this work has amounted to TWELEVE entries to the challenge, each one inspired by one of Roisin’s own creations.

Due to blogging time constraints, I thought I’d roll them all into one Round Up post and then link each to their own blog post as they are typed up.

Roisin, if you read this, I want to thank you the amazing new me-made wardrobe that you helped inspire.
I wish you the best of luck and love on your wedding day and can’t wait to see your undoubtedly amazing wedding dress!

Which one do you think she’ll like best?

Thanks for the organizing the challenge, Sarah!

 

 

Ice Cream Soda Dress

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #1

Pattern Used: Sewaholic Cambie dress

Inspired by: this red Dolly Clackett Cambie dress

Yellow Cupcakes

Yellow Cupcake Dress

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #2

Pattern Used: By Hand London Elisalex Dress

Inspired by:  every “Dolly” incarnation of the Elisalex!!

 

Berry Bird Wiggle Dress

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #3

Pattern Used: Sewaholic Camibe bodice and By Hand London Charlotte skirt

Inspired by:  Roisin’s Feckin Birds Dress

Tangerine Roses

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #4

Pattern Used: By Hand London Anna bodice and By Hand London Charlotte skirt, self-made peplum

Inspired by:  the Rachel dress

Chocolate Cake Home Ec

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #5

Pattern Used: By Hand London Anna bodice and gathered skirt……with pockets!

Inspired by:  the On Opposite Day dress

Dessert Tray

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #6

Pattern Used: Modified Simplicity 2444 bodice and pleated skirt

Inspired by:  the Passage Over Piedmont dress

Blueberry Bird Pie

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #7

Pattern Used: By Hand London Anna bodice and pleated skirt

Inspired by:  Roisin’s Feckin Birds Dress

042

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #8

Pattern Used: By Hand London Anna bodice and circle skirt

Inspired by:  Distant Sun dress

Easter Cream Egg

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #9

Pattern Used: Sewaholic Camibe bodice and circle skirt

Inspired by:  The Funnybones dress

063

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #10

Pattern Used: By Hand London Elisalex bodice with Deer & Doe Anémone skirt

Inspired by:  Il Fait Chaud dress

 

Russian Doll Dress 032

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #11

Pattern Used: Sewaholic Cambie Dress with pleated skirt

Inspired by:  One Good Turn dress

049

Sew Dolly Clackett Entry #12

Pattern Used: Sewaholic Cambie Dress

Inspired by:  Barry’s  dress

Whew!  That’s it………for now.  I just thought of another few I’d like to make…………:)

 

29 thoughts on “Sew Dolly Clackett Challenge: Round Up!

  1. I CANNOT believe you sewed 12 dresses! You are ah-mazing! And to top it off, all of your dresss are ah-mazing! Personally, #3 has my heart! Want, want, want! It’s so very pretty! I just might have to get the Charlotte skirt pattern!

  2. Thank you Sue! I can’t believe I finished them either! Some were projects that had been unfinished and I’m so glad they’re off my list. I’ve been doing nothing else but work, sew, sleep!
    The Charlotte skirt is fantastic and pairs so well with every bodice pattern I’ve tried with it 🙂

  3. How amazing to make 12 dresses! All of them lovely too. I do have my favourites but think the styles are probably more suited to my daughters. I think I might go for a BHL pattern for one of them – I’ve heard the pattern and instructions are great.

    • Thank you! It was a lot of work but very satisfying.
      The BHL patterns are great. The instructions are always clear and well written. A pleasure to sew. I love that they also do sew alongs for many of their patterns too!

  4. Five and six get my vote but you can totally see the Dolly inspiration in all of them 🙂

  5. Wow I came across your blog via handmade janes…all lovely lovely dresses and all totally dolly clackett! Well done.

  6. 12 dresses is an amazing achievement. I prefer #8 personally.

  7. Love 3, 7, and 9! Those blues/touches of blue do wonderful things for your complexion.
    Can’t believe you’ve basically revamped your wardrobe. Lot of work…

  8. I am speechless and in awe. It’d take me years to sew so many dresses. I love how you have mixed and matched your patterns.

    • Thank you for your kind words 🙂
      I can be a bit of an insomniac, so I might as well sew! You’d be surprised how many were finished into the wee hours…..

  9. Holy Dolly Clackett Jenny! All your makes are wonderful but I especially love #3 & #4!

  10. They’re all so beautiful! I love the one with the matryoshka dolls.

  11. WoW! This is amazing! I love what you did with the sleeves on the Cambie dress. How did you do that?

  12. What a fantastic selection of dresses. You did really well – found you via Dolly Clackett blog. I love novelty fabric dresses so much. Could you tell me where you got the fabric for no 7 – the birds on a clothes line. I adore that print, and haven’t seen it before.

  13. Goodenoughstuff

    Wow. I’ve made one BHL Anna dress and this is so inspiring. Thanks for sharing. Would you be able to tell me where the bird fabric for number 3 is from or what it is called. My heart is skipping a beat! Thanks so much.

    • Thank you! The bird dress fabric is a Michael Miller print that I purchased on fabric.com. They have nine yards left, so you should be able to get some. Here’s the link-
      it’s lovely fabric. I think I’ll wear that one today !!

Leave a Reply

