Finished Project: Betty Draper Mad Men Challenge Dress

My first sewing challenge is completed!

Thank you to Julia Bobbin for hosting this amazing event. Here are some pictures of the finished dress. You can read about my progress here and here.

I am quite pleased with how the dress turned out. As always, the By Hand London patterns I used (Anna bodice and Charlotte skirt) sewed up beautifully. There were so many self-drafted parts to this dress and I pushed myself beyond my sewing comfort zone, but that’s what a challenge is for, right?

I’m so glad I got this post completed in time for it to be added to the final Mad Med Challenge #3 roundup!

Mad Men Dress Final 001

Mad Men Dress Final 006

Mad Men Dress Final 003

Mad Men Dress Final 005

Mad Men Dress Final 007

Mad Men Dress Final 009

And here is the original inspiration, one more time:

I phone 3 002

I like to think that Betty Draper would approve. What do you think?

8 thoughts on “Finished Project: Betty Draper Mad Men Challenge Dress

  1. Gaaahhh!!! You did an amazing job! Well done!!!

  2. Thank you so much Beccie!! XO

  3. Oh Betty would definitely approve! Fabulous dress and you’ve styled it brilliantly! The detailing on the waistband is so very like the orginal!

  4. Looks great!!! I love that waist detail!

  5. I love your blog and I love that dress! Great work!

Leave a Reply

