Field Trip: Toronto Vintage Clothing Show

Now I’ve………..had………..the time of my life!

No, I’ve never felt like this before…..yes I swear, it’s the truth!

And I owe it all to the

TORONTO VINTAGE CLOTHING SHOW!!!!! (IN ALL CAPS! YEAH!)

 

Photo courtesy of Toronto Vintage Clothing Show

 

This Sunday, I had the opportunity to travel to downtown T.O. for the semi-annual Vintage Clothing Show.

To say I had an amazing time just doesn’t cut it.  I was in heaven.

Now, I had no idea what to expect, but I went there with an open mind and an open wallet full of birthday money generously donated by my dear husband who was brave enough to let me attend UN-supervised.

I’ll get to my sexy haul pics in a second, but I I’ll tell you a little more about the whole experience first.

I don’t know about you, but I can take FOREVER to make decisions and I can’t stand any rushing or timelines when I shop.  Somehow being with another person feels like added pressure, even when you’re with someone who you’re totally 100% comfortable with.  At events like these, I just want to take my time and obsess over every purchase privately.  No judgements, no outside opinions, no other agendas.  My way.  All the time.

 

That’s what I did Sunday.  I took my time and made sure I got there early to explore each vendor before the rush (and there was a mad rush about 11:30 a.m. where you couldn’t even enter some booths it was so packed).  By arriving just after the doors opened, I had the opportunity to scan booths quickly and then return to scoop up the pieces I couldn’t walk away from.

 

The first booth I went to had this great little 70’s cream number that jumped off the rack at me. It’s not my usual style but I was assured by all the ladies in the communal change room that I really worked well on me.  I thought it would be a perfect out-to-dinner-looking-fancy-going-to-eat-a-lot dress.

 

i phone pics march 011

This dress was only $39 (!) and I don’t own anything else like it in a good way.  It stands out in my closet.

I was initially worried that the prices at the show would be too far out of my reach. Just like on the internet, item prices at this show varied wildly between booths. I would say that over 75% of the booths carried at least some items in the $50 + under range, which was a great relief to me as it meant a larger haul!!

I arrived at the show with a list of specific items I was looking for in hopes that I would stay focused and not get too overwhelmed by choices which is very easy to do at this show.  Every booth is BRIMMING with items, all unique and special. Like this booth with HUNDREDS of vintage brooches, necklaces and bracelets.  They gave you a little basket to hold everything in which was well appreciated, as I didn’t want that RAT BROOCH to escape!

i phone pics march 004

 

Amazing, right!?!? I named her LOUISE and she is pretty weird gross AMAZE BALLS?!  I also loved the butterfly pin and how it was described as “OLD”.  (Um  OK?!?  Wasn’t EVERYTHING there old? It’s vintage).

Everywhere I turned at the show, someone stopped me to tell me how much they loved my dress.  I was wearing my ode to Dolly Clackett Chocolate Cake dress (completed project post to follow).  People were stopping me to take photos and I even got interviewed for TV!

I realize that sometimes  my fabric/dress choices and style esthetic are a little (ok, a LOT) “out-there” and my friends and family are often a little embarrassed for me.   It felt really good to be in a room with like minded people who “get” it.   So many ladies approached me to compliemnt my dress and ask where I bought it. I very smugly kindly replied I had made it. One of a kind. That alone was worth the price of admission for me.

Now here are those haul photos:

 

vintage gloves for my Betty Draper Mad Men Challenge dress styling.

1960’s tweed fitted jacket from the estate sale of some lady who’s perfume still scents this piece. I kinda love that.

sweet and frothy vintage nightie sets that I thought were totes sexy until my husband called them “cute”. (Ummmm so, not sexy then?

Brooch haul including Louise the RAT and the brooch for my MAD MEN challenge dress (top centre)

brooch haul including Louise the RAT and the brooch for my MAD MEN challenge dress (top centre)

Green angora 1960's cardigan that smells like that perfume lady again, plus a rhinestone "J" brooch.  Score!!

Green angora 1960’s cardigan that smells like that perfume lady again, plus a rhinestone “J” brooch. Score!!

two cute vintage bracelets.  The pink one looks like I have bubblegum wrapped around my wrist.  YES!

Two cute vintage bracelets. The pink one looks like I have bubblegum wrapped around my wrist. YES!

great little vintage clutch

great little vintage clutch

a few fun necklaces.  I especially fell for the tear-drop shaped pearl pendant.

a few fun necklaces. I especially fell for the tear-drop shared pearl pendant.

That’s it for me. After all this my $$ ran out.

And here is the outfit I wore to the show that received so many compliments. (PLUS a sweet little photo-bomb by some creepy paper-bag-head MONSTER!)
i phone pics march 027

Watch out! He looks pretty shifty to me!

Cutie :)

Cutie 🙂

Leave a Reply

